Helpful Resources

International Qualifications Assessment Service (IQAS)

IQAS is a service that will assess your foreign educational credentials and provide information on how your credential would compare to an educational program in Canada.

For more information regarding assessments, visit International Qualifications Assessment Service (IQAS).

Starting August 6, 2015, IQAS can provide international credential assessments for immigration purposes. These assessments are a key part of the federal skilled worker immigration program. For other streams in the Express Entry program, these assessments can also be used to gain more points and increase chances for permanent residency.

National Occupation Classification (NOC) system

The National Occupation Classification (NOC), developed by the federal government, classifies every job in Canada and assigns it a four-digit NOC code.

Your NOC code will determine your eligibility to apply to the AINP.

Step 1 - Finding your four-digit NOC code

  • If you are working in Alberta on a Labour Market¬†Impact Assessment¬†(LMIA), your four-digit NOC code will be on your LMIA.
  • If you do not have an LMIA, you can Search the NOC to determine your four-digit code. Compare your job description from your employer to the job duties listed under the NOC code that best applies to you. If they match, then you know your code.

Step 2 - Finding your Skill Level

  • When you know your four-digit code, go to the Matrix page on the NOC website to determine what skill level (NOC 0, A, B, C or D) your four-digit code falls under.

Translating your documents

To apply to the AINP, you must have your educational documents, work reference letters, or other documents translated into English. The AINP will accept your original French documents.

The AINP will only accept translations prepared by:

Useful links